Where is Spring??

Standard

It is still so very cold and wintery here despite the fact that the first day of Spring has been and gone. I am still very much in winter mode in terms of cooking and crafting. The allotment is being a little neglected as it has rained for the past two weekends but my indoor seedlings don’t seem to understand that they need to slow down a little as they cannot go to their summer homes for a few weeks yet.

I have a new craft toy and have (unsurprisingly) become a little obsessed. It is an adjustable sock loom and will hopefully with a little luck and, an insane amount of time, actually make wearable socks. I was thrilled to see the first part of sock number one peeking from the bottom of the loom after only about 6 hours work and am now, oh the great exceitement, about to commence the toe area. What a labour of love these will be. Maybe I will speed up with practice. I have got some gorgeous colours of sock yarn to play with all lined up and waiting.

sock2

we wanna be socks

I have also made some rather eyeball startling crochet squares in shades of neon orange and lime (Why? because these colours were in the sale of course). It is a great pattern to crochet  and available from the designer (Julie Yeager) via the Ravelry website. The block is called Firenze. I am now pondering how to join them as there are pros and cons with every possible method.

firenze blocks

I have been a little bad and have rather a lot of projects on the go at once now although one is intended to be a long term scrap blanket so probably not aiming to complete for a couple of years.  As most of my projects seem to be reasonably long in terms of time,, I needed a quick bit of completed project satisfaction so made this little crochet owl yesterday afternoon, He only takes a little bit of scrap wool and some stuffing and not much time, The pattern comes from a lovely colourful blog with good tutorial pictures called Bunny Mummy. She also has an Easter bunny pattern which is rather sweet. Here he is in a  rather lop sided photo:

crochet owl

I almost had some baking to share with you today but unfortunately some member of my family has eaten more peanut butter than I realised  and so I was missing a crucial ingredient for my monster cookies which were going to be an Easter Treat. Never mind, that is about 600 calories saved 🙂

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

Leave a Reply

