Sunday Quilt thoughts (2)

Standard

Continuing my posts about quilts I have made in the past, here are two of my favourites. I made these for my gorgeous girls several years ago.  They were machine pieced but entirely hand quilted. It was difficult to get them finished for Christmas as I could only sew once they had both gone to bed after around 9pm.

Sometimes I look at a finished quilt and can’t actually believe that I made it. People often say to me that they don’t know how I have the patience and, to be honest, if I look at the project as a whole I would agree that I don’t know either. I think the thing is that I don’t picture the whole project at the start normally, just a block or section at a time and then it gets a mind of its own and reaches a point of no return. The part I do not enjoy much is the layering of the quilt ‘sandwich’ and the binding. The end results are so very worth it to me and I cannot imagine a life without my version of creativity. 

jess

Jessie’s Quilt

abis

Abbie’s Quilt

More another time. Hope I am not being too indulgent in sharing these – let me know if it is too tedious or seems narcissistic 🙂

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

Leave a Reply

