Sunday Quilt thoughts

Standard

I have retrieved all the photos of my previous quilts from the old computer this morning. They bring back a lot memories of the time I made them and the reason for their existence and also the much loved people they were made for.  I find patchwork a wonderfully distracting activity and so over the years when there have been times in my life when things have been a little dark or out of my control, I have found myself heavily involved with little scraps of colour which reform to make beautiful quilts and hangings.  I was browsing some other blogs recently and one was discussing the therapeutic effect of crochet and its benefits for those suffering from depression. I think this is very true and probably applies to all of the creative arts.

I thought I would begin to share some of my past quilty efforts this week.  

London Quilt

This is one of my all time favourites and it is also the one which took me the longest period of time to make as I only ever worked on the piecing when I was visiting the family home in Essex and so it was entirely hand stitched and hand quilted. It is one of my favourite patterns too. Looking at it always takes me back to the house where I grew up and the evenings with the family and the dog where I would work on my patches while my then young daughters enjoyed lots of grandparent time.  This was the first piece which I actually quilted fully and learning to hand quilt was very satisfying even though my poor fingers felt like pin cushions.The quilt has brightened my living room wall now for more than ten years and although people have asked me what I would sell it for, to me it is priceless.

Mariner Compass (London Quilt)

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

One response »

Leave a Reply

