Crochet blanket addiction 1

Standard

I have rekindled my crochet interests recently. This was partly because I spent most of the past two years quilting and need a bit of a change. Also crochet lends itself so well to snuggling on the sofa, all warm and woolly rather than being holed up on my own with the sewing machine. There are some gorgeous patterns around now and I spent hours trawling through Ravelry last week so now have enough projects in mind for  a lifetime.  I have taken a lot of pictures in the past few days of the projects I have finally completed in the past weeks since Christmas  – I had a lot of UFO’s to tackle (Unfinished Objects) and it is nice to see them completed and allows me to start new things without being riddled with guilt. I do like to have a least three things on the go at one though as it stops boredom setting in.

Here is my favourite finished project which I think I mentioned before. It is based on the Easy Ripple Blanket pattern from Lucy at Attic24 and the small flowers are also from her pattern pages so thanks to Lucy for the inspiration 🙂

I used some gorgeous wool for this one (Sublime Merino) which was lovely to work with. It is a riot of colour but that’s they way I like them, all over-the-top and exuberant. It is a small single bed kind of size which is perfect for a winter sofa throw. There a few colours in there which I am not so keen on but they needed to be used up too. I added the little flowers partly to mask the lilac colour I used early on in the project because as it grew I decided that I didn’t like it much.

DSCF3493

DSCF3489

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

Leave a Reply

