Tomato, lentil and chilli soup

Standard

This is lovely warming store cupboard soup – only takes around 20-30 mins to cook and is great to take to work for lunch with a wrap or crackers.

Image

Ingredients: can be varied according to what you have.

2 handfuls of red lentils

bottle or carton of passata or several cans of tomatoes

2 carrots – chopped

1 onion – peeled and chopped

mixed herbs 91-3 tsp to taste, or use basil or thyme as liked

ground pepper

4 cloves of garlic peeled

vegetable stock or water and stock powder (I use Marigold) to cover lentils etc well enough to cook.

red chilli flakes or chili powder or paste to taste – I like it quite spicy. I used chipotle paste in this batch and it was lovely.

Method:

Chuck it all in the pan and simmer until the lentils are cooked. Whizz to smoothness with a hand blender.

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

Leave a Reply

