Spicy Cauliflower soup

Standard

Needing inspiration for a winter lunch, all my fridge yielded was a sad cauliflower so a bit of thinking and a bit of googling resulted in the following recipe adapted from a variety I perused on the web. Quantities are not exact and a bit of ‘bunging it’ will make no difference. I was a tad suspicious of this recipe initially as I am not a bit cauli fan but it was actually gorgeous with layers of flavour and I made mine very warming by adding more chili flakes. For those trying to lose weight –  it is zero Weightwatcher  propoints as even the creamed coconut becomes negliglible once divided into 4 or so portions. 

Ingredients needed:

  • Roughly one large cauliflower or 3/4 of an enormous one – trim off the greenery and cut into chunks including the stalky bits.
  • 1 chopped carrot
  • 1 chopped onion
  • Spices – ground turmeric 2tsp, ground coriander 3 tsp, ground cumin 2 tsp, chili powder 1 tsp (or too taste)
  • Vegetable or chicken stock (I use Marigold Boiullon powder) enough to cover the vegetables as you can add more liquid later if necessary
  • 4 garlic cloves  peeled (or to taste)
  • pepper and salt to season
  • splash of lime juice (optional)
  • 5-20g of grated creamed coconut (optional but I think add a depth of flavour)

Method:

  • Either dry fry the onions and spices for a wee while to bring out the flavour or use a little olive oil or Frylight as preferred.
  • Add the cauliflower, carrot, garlic and stock to the pan.
  • Simmer for as long as it takes for the vegetables to soften (about 20-30 mins)
  • Blend with a hand blender until smooth (or not so smooth if you prefer it chunky).
  • Taste to check seasoning and add salt, pepper, lime juice and coconut to taste. I also added dried chili flakes at this point as I like it hot.
  • Enjoy.
About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

Leave a Reply

