Tavistock Goose Fair

Standard

What a disappointing day out this was! Despite having lived in Devon for over 26 years I have never managed to attend this event which has been running since the 12th Century apparently. It is always held mid-week but this year it coincided with my week’s holiday so last Wednesday was definitely the time to visit.

I am sure that once many years ago it had charm and interest but to be honest it was like the worst sort of cheap market or car boot sale and every other stall seemed to be selling smelly burgers and ‘donuts’  (gah what is wrong with ‘doughnuts’ as a spelling?).

For some unknown reason most of the other stalls were selling either mugs or cheese which was very odd but actually also handy as I have been searching for the ideal new set of mugs for months now (I really miss Woolworths). So it wasn’t a totally wasted trip but I was soooo disappointed as I was expecting some olde worlde charm and maybe craft stalls and demos etc. There were some geese to be seen and some oddly disturbing garden ornaments but I don’t think I will go again this century. Apologies if you love this kind of thing but it didn’t seem worth closing roads for … and breathe 😉

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

Leave a Reply

