Sumptuous scrumptious but not Bum-tious Chocolate cake

Standard
A healthy chocolate cake?

I developed this recipe this very afternoon – a week off work and our lovely Devon weather is doing its usual thing – grey drizzle! Looking in my kitchen cupboards I  found that I still had rather a lot of ground almonds despite the almond-raspberry creation of a few week’s ago. I also had half a jar of apple sauce remaining in the fridge and quite a lot of eggs so this little fatless flourless wonder was born. It’s just got to be good for you hasn’t it? There are almonds and cocoa and eggs and absolutely no nasty butter or flour to waste calories on. It comes out at a tasty 6 propoints for those following the Weightwatchers plan (if you assume 8 servings per cake)

You need:

160g ground almonds

140 g apple sauce

2.5 heaped dessert spoonfuls of cocoa powder

1.5 tsp baking powder

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla essence

120g Light at heart sugar (or 240 g normal sugar)

pinch of salt

Round cake pan about 8″ greased and lined (since there is no fat in this cake I tend to spray the paper liner with fry light and make sure it is coasted so there is no sticking)

Method

1.  Put the apple sauce, eggs and vanilla essence in a food processor and beat until combined.

2. Add the dry ingredients and beat into a fairly runny batter.

3. Pour into lined tin and bake at around 200C depending on your oven for about 35 mins (check after 30 mins). It took 35 mins in my fan oven with foil on its top for the first 30 mins.

4. Cool in its case as it is slightly fragile while warm but still tastes great.

This was lovely with a cup of coffee but would also make a lush dessert with some strawberries or raspberries and a little cream or creme fraiche. I am sure you may achieve a greater rise if you mess about whisking the egg whites but I wanted a real quick bung it, cook, it, eat it experience. Hope you enjoy x

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

Leave a Reply

