Creative Stitches Show 2012

Standard

Last Sunday was the annual pilgrimage to Westpoint near Exeter to examine all things crafty and buy stuff.  There was the usual array of amazing work on display especially by the quilters and I came back feeling all inspired as usual. My daughter and I managed to get onto two of the mini-workshops and had a go at making a felted landscape which was very enjoyable even if my finished piece needed a little more work (don’t laugh)…

This was the product of the mini workshop.

We only had fifteen minutes for this workshop so the whole process was reminiscent of the Generation Game but it was enough fun for us both to stop by the stall and purchase starter supplies although I don’t know what I will  do with any finished pieces yet, maybe incorporate them into a wall hanging? Oh well, I will cross that bridge when I come to it and it may be a while away as I have a disturbing  number of UFOs (unfinished objects) discovered whilst hunting for my round nosed pliers yesterday. I may take a picture of them and post it to shame myself into a finishing session rather than taking up newer shinier hobbies.

The new shiny hobby of the moment is going to be beaded Christmas baubles as a break from my crochet blanket. Here are my first attempts made from a kit as I wanted an easy start without buying too much stuff but I also succumbed to a book so I have a feeling I will be buying more baubles and beads.

My very first beaded Christmas baubles

The other workshop was Deco art, again therapeutic and wonderfully colourful. It was tempting to buy a meerkat form to cover in gaudy flowers but I showed unusual restraint. Many thanks to the exhibitors for allowing us a chance to try your crafts – very often these short tasters do lead to a whole new world of craft opening up.

I am going to take a picture of all my UFO’s to shock myself into action. Watch this space.

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

2 responses »

  1. I went on the Saturday but did not go to amy of the workshops this time. I stocked up on interesting card & paper, and some die cut decoupage to make quick cards. Oh yes, and lots of small bits from Button it – lots of little wooden buttons to stick on cards, Christmas decorations, etc. 🙂

    • I don’t dare start card making as that is another set of gorgeous equipment to buy. Have dabbled in the past as I made a special card for my daughter’s 21st as i didn’t see any I liked in the shops. I have a bit of a thing for buttons but tend to buy them with no real plan on what they are for. The show is always quite inspiring to me- a real feast for the eyes and I come back full of ideas..

Leave a Reply

