Raspberry and White Chocolate squares

Standard

Raspberry, almond and white chocolate squares

For my daughter’s early ‘ birthday cake’, as she is leaving for university a week before her twentieth, I decided to make these as I had some ground almonds (in fact I seem to have a lot of panic bought ground almonds) and some frozen raspberries. I substituted half spoon for ordinary caster sugar but thought I had better keep the butter instead of changing for apple sauce as birthday cake is not a good time to experiment.  This is the recipe I used which was my own one adapted after reading many of the recipes already out there with a pic of the finished articles.

For those interested in Weightwatcher pro-points, the cakes made with half-spoon sugar are still 9pp if cut into 16 largeish squares so totally naughty. It would also be lovely as a dessert with cream.

Raspberry, almond and White Chocolate squares

You will need:

4 eggs

120 ml skimmed milk

260g plain white flour

2 tsp baking powder

110 g of ‘half spoon’ white or brown sugar (or 220g of normal sugar)

200g ground almonds

200g raspberries (defrosted if frozen to reduce water content)

2oog white chocolate

250g butter or suitable spread for baking (I used Olive spread)

A square brownie type pan lined and greased or if a silicone pan just greased will work usually. You could also make these as muffins or cupcakes using paper cases.

Method:

Preheat your oven to 200°C (gas mark 6, 400°F). Place the eggs and sugar in a  mixing bowl and whisk until they thicken nicely.

Heat butter or spread in a pan until melted then remove from the heat and put 150g of the chocolate (broken or chopped) into the butter to melt.

Meanwhile sift flour and baking powder into the egg and sugar mix and stir. Add the milk at this point if the mixture becomes too stiff. Mix in the ground almonds and then the chocolatey butter and the milk if not already added. Gently fold in the raspberries and the remaining white chocolate chopped into small chunks.

Pour into your prepared case and bake for between 18-25 minutes depending on your oven. Mine took 20 mins in a fan oven and when they came out were nicely brown on top and passed the cocktail stick in the middle coming out dry test.

Enjoy!  They are quite rich and indulgent but lovely and moist with a tartness form the raspberries..

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

One response »

  1. Looks great! I love any white chocolate and raspberry combination so I’d like to give this a try one day, and perhaps make using muffin cases to lower the PP per serving (because a large slice would just tempt me!).

Leave a Reply

