Blackberry and Apple Muffins

Standard

I promised to tell you about the blackberry and apple muffins. I like to bake but I have been following Weightwatchers now for over six months and so have been steering well clear of making cakes for obvious reasons.  I thought, however, the time had come to experiment a little and see if I could bring the calories down enough to allow myself a wee treat and my kitchen offered up a couple of sad Braeburn apples and some frozen blackberries foraged a month or two ago so I adapted a recipe using substitutes for oil and sugar.  If you are following Weightwatchers Propoints then these work out at 3pp each (if you make 18 decent sized muffins as my mixture did). The are nicely cakey and moist because of the fruit and even my fussy OH liked them. As there was no fat at all in the recipe, I sprayed the paper cases lightly with Frylight as I was worried they would stick to the paper. This did seem to help.

Blackberry and Apple waistline friendly muffins.

You will need:

2 eggs

240 ml skimmed milk

375g plain white flour

120 g of apple sauce (or vegetable oil if calories not an issue)

100 g of ‘half spoon’ white or brown sugar (or 200 g of normal caster sugar if you just don’t care)

4 tsp baking powder

200 g blackberries

2 peeled and chopped eating apples

pinch of salt

tsp of cinnamon powder

Method:

Preheat your oven to 200°C (gas mark 6, 400°F). Place the wet ingredients (eggs, apple sauce and milk in a  mixing bowl and beat together with the sugar.

Sift flour, salt, baking powder and cinnamon into the wet mixture and stir in thoroughly. Add your fruit to the mixture being careful to not squash it all up. Spoon your fairly runny mixture into prepared cake cases which you may have sprayed with oil and sprinkle a little more sugar over the tops of the muffins. Bake for between 18-25 minutes depending on your oven. Mine took 20 mins in a fan oven.

Enjoy! They seem to come out of the paper better when cold. I put half in the freezer as cakes with no fat do not normally keep as well as the regular recipes but the way everybody was tucking in, this is not a major problem.

About plymouthmaid

Oooh how to decide what are the most important things to say about me? That is hard. Is it what I do for a living? (Teacher of Maths, English and ICT). Is is my age? (nearly 50 boo hoo). Is it my family? (2 grown up lovely girls, an other half, Marley the daft spaniel and the rest of the family to numerous to mention). Is it my many hobbies? (patchwork and quilting, crochet, beading, gardening, cooking, poker, walking, digital scrapbooking, computer forums). You can be the judge as I don't know where this blog will lead as I am totally new to the blogging world but wanted somewhere to post some recipes I am developing..

Leave a Reply

